Work and live abroad is a complete resource for those wanting to work abroad or live abroad. We provide overseas job openings, immigration information, legal advice and country guides.
Receive updates on working and living abroad
Live Abroad

Aug 1, 2008
Immigration Policies in Australia
- Glaiza Anne S. Wood Email this article

Australia is one of the world’s most prosperous countries. It is therefore no surprise that people from all over the world move to Australia to get a better life. Understanding this, Australia has enforced immigration policies to facilitate the movement of people into the country. At present, Australia is open to every race and nationality. They are also very welcoming to highly skilled individuals who can augment the country’s employment deficiencies.


History of Australian Immigration Policies

Australia is most notorious for their “White Australia” immigration practices. At present, the act has been completely banished and revised. It all started in 1901. Around this time conflicts arose between colonies in the Australian landscape. And each of these colonies came up with their own restrictive immigration policies.


The issue was aggravated during the Second World War. Conflicts with Japan lead an Australian leader to further the immigration restrictions. At this point, non-European individuals were banned from immigrating to Australia. When things settled down, refugees and war brides were granted access to the country. The tension slowly decreased over the years. Australia has since then opened its arms to immigrants of all races and nationalities.


Components of Australian Immigration

At present, there are two components to Australian immigration. These components are Humanitarian and Migration. The Humanitarian component involves people who seek asylum from the country. Migration on the other hand is further divided into three. They are: Family Stream, Skilled Migration and Special Eligibility. These two components and their different factors make up the backbone of Australian Immigration policies.



Migration to Australia is further divided into three categories and they are as follows:


Skilled Migration


Australia puts great emphasis on the migration of skilled individuals into the country. These are people who can aid the betterment of the Australian economy. Skilled Migration is further divided into the following categories:


General – general skilled migration includes all professionals who want to go to Australia sans employer nomination. Migrants under general skilled migration have to correspond to a certain age limit, skill level, educational attainment and English language efficiency. These restrictions are enforced in order to ensure that the migrant is able to find a job in Australia.


Employer Nomination – skilled immigrants who already have employers waiting for them fall under this category. These employers will be the ones to nominate foreign employees for migration.


Business Skill – This category encourages skilled and successful businessmen/women to settle in Australia.


 Family Migration

Family Migration involves having a sponsor within the country. Australia believes in the importance of reuniting families. That is why Australian Immigrants and residents can nominate the following individuals.


  • Partner – May include a spouse, fiancé or life partner
  • Child – Biological or Adopted Children of an Australian resident, Orphaned Child of a Close Relative.
  • Parent – Parents of children who are currently settled in Australia can be nominated as migrants into the country
  • Dependent Relatives – relatives who are completely dependent on an Australian resident may also be nominated for migration


With the issue of Family Migration, Australia reserves the right to request DNA testing wherever it is found necessary.


Special Eligibility

Special Eligibility migration involves those people who have had previous ties with the country. This usually includes former residents. It also includes those who were born in the country but grew up in another.



Individuals who fall under this category involve refugees seeking asylum within the country. It includes individuals who have legally entered and sought protection from Australia. Those who have entered the country illegally are also able to apply for Humanitarian Immigration. This policy branch is perfect for people who are seeking refuge from hostilities in their former countries. Australia is quite flexible when it comes to Humanitarian immigration. But, the country reserves the power to reject any application deemed unfit.



Reader Comments
tP39p3 bqxonhq - Bimhgfjt
Add your own comment >>